Genie Speaks

There is hope

The Health Talk

I figure it is about time we talked about what being healthy really means.  I would like you to pause a moment and think about the definition of health.  What does being healthy mean to you?  Fill in the blank:  Being healthy for me, means that I can ______.   Write or type your statement then please read further.

We need to acknowledge that everyone is on a different path is this life; no matter how much it looks like the guy next door is on the same path as you, there is something unique to each of you that the other may not know.   Someone who has been free of disease their whole life will have a radically different point of view than a disabled person who struggling with diseases and/or disorders.  Also keep in mind that not everyone on this planet is here to experience the ideal health situation according to the mainstream view of health.

Being disabled for many years, more than I care to remember, changed my idea of what exactly does it mean to be healthy.  For example, in my article “Fading Away” (http://voices.yahoo.com/fading-away-524741.html?cat=5) that I wrote in 2007 as Genie Walker,  on this topic: “For me healthy is: getting up in the morning and getting on with my day without having to notice the effort it takes to actually get out of bed.”  If you want to know more about my past, please click on the hyperlink above.  Today, my idea of being healthy is walking up and down the four flights of stairs at work, just because I can.   At this point, I can only do two flights of stairs with a few rest breaks and lot of sweating.

Now, take a look at your health statement.  Do you still agree with it?  Do you need to make some adjustments?  Whether you keep your original health statement or you make adjustments, post it somewhere where you will see it each day.  If you are already healthy, your statement will be a positive affirmation; if you are not there yet, use your statement as a goal to attain.  Remember to stay positive.

I would love it, if you would share your health statements with me.  If you don’t want to make a public comment, send me a private email at geniespeaks (at) gmail (dot) com.

Life is good!  God is great! All is right in my world.

Many Blessings,

Genie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am the photographer of all the photos I post here.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Health Talk

  1. Over the last 2 months my husband and I have been on our own health journey. For me health is learning to say no to myself and yes to wise choices!

I love comments!

