Genie Speaks

There is hope

Adds Up

I believe there is more than one aspect to being healthy.  I wanted to share my path to healthiness in hopes my story will help someone else find health.  Until last month, I was in a wheelchair. This month I’m walking and smiling; smiling and walking.

For me attitude is everything!  I KNOW I am healed because all things are possible with God.   Being positive is a necessary ingredient and you need to never ever  give up.  When I was in grade school, I read everything I could get my hands on. Certain tales from history stuck with me and help form my attitude.  I read nonfiction stories about pioneers dying a few feet from their home, because they couldn’t see it in the blizzard so they didn’t know how close they were.  I also read that a lot folks in the old American West died of thirst, just a few feet from a watering hole.  Those people died, because they gave up. I don’t know how to give up.  Even playing a board game, I will not stop playing, because it looks like I’m losing.  I don’t stop playing until I have totally lost the game, not before.  Then I will demand a rematch.  I do not give up.

Having a strong spiritual life is important. If you don’t know deep down to your soul that miracles happen and will happen to you; your mind may reject the healing. If you start feeling better and are able to do something you haven’t done in years, do not tell yourself or anyone else “I can’t believe it.”  That’s a one way ticket back to where you were.  Instead, tell yourself and anyone who will listen, how great God is today, yesterday, and tomorrow.  Expect more miracles. Be a believer.

Have an exercise program; I despised exercise until recently.  My attitude is different, now that I’m not in a wheelchair.  Exercise is fun; anything I do is fun because I’m not in a wheelchair. Starting Saturday, I’ll be doing water aerobics in addition to all the walking I’m doing.  My face is getting a workout also, because I can’t stop grinning.  Inside I’m doing a dance, chanting “I’m not in a wheelchair, woohoo!”

Don’t let anyone set limits on you.  I’ve lost count of the number of people, who have told me that I got rid of my wheelchair too quickly.   That I should use a walker or a cane; that I should rest more, and worst yet “Don’t push so hard. Take it easy.”  I’m not listening to any of these people.   The only thing that slows me down is blisters on the bottoms of my feet; blisters from walking so much.

Another thing to keep in mind, the old saying “You are what you eat” is so true.  I eat as healthy as I possibly can; using organic foods, staying away from processed food and drinking water or juice.  Tonight, I got a reminder that the food choices you make can determine your mood, energy level and ability to think clearly.  I tried a new food product that I purchased from the health food section.  I was careless and didn’t read the label, so I really didn’t know what I bought.  Tonight, I ate the so-called healthy food and within 30 minutes of my meal, I lost my joyous attitude, my connection to God felt weak, I lost the ability to think clearly (I’ve been working on this blog for hours; it usually doesn’t take this long), my energy levels are weak and I feel like tearing someone’s head off.  I hope my body rejects this toxic poison out of my system so I can go back to being glowing with happiness and feeling joyful to the core of my being.

All these steps were part of the whole that led to my healing.  We are all on a different path and have different need, but I believe I have given a basic outline that will add up to anyone being able to be healed.

Life is good!  God is great! All is right in my world.

Many Blessings,

Genie

p.s.  I woke up the next morning feeling that today is a wonderful day.  Its awesome to feel joyous.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Adds Up

  1. Wonderful! We are so happy for you. My uncle Ron has learned to walk three times as an adult. Twice after accidents an once after double knee replacement. It takes attitude, courage and hope that you have displayed. I am currently preparing my next post on attitude and plan to link to this post, if I may? (And, if I can figure out how.)

  2. Very inspiring post. Through God all things are possible. I’m happy for you. By the way, thank you for visiting.

  3. Congratulations Jenny, I am so happy for you.
    Yes….God is great.

    All best.

    ps. thanks for visited me.

  4. Melbra on said:

    Genie,
    I have know you for eleven years, when you were sick alot. Now its unbelieveable! You have done so well in three weeks and I am very proud of you! Writing this blog helps me and it will help others too! I know where you came from slowly walking to the wheelchair now walking almost running in some cases. It’s really been a miracle seeing you improve! You are right to add GOD in your life because WITH GOD YOU CAN DO ALL THINGS, WITHOUT HIM YOU CAN DO NOTHING!
    Eating organic food has helped! You are happier and smiling all the time! What a great way to go!

    Congratulation to a job well done!
    Melbra

  5. What a great post!
    Never give up hope
    Keep on trying
    I am in a verge of change
    Tired of falling down all the time
    This time doing something about it
    Like you
    Will never give up
    Congrats
    All the best to you, Jenny

I love comments!

