Genie Speaks

There is hope

Creating Peace

I’ve been inspired by the post World Peace a Housewife’s Perspective by A Leaf in Springtime.   Her post has had me thinking on peace in general.  I feel strongly that we need to start with ourselves; we need to find peace within ourselves.  Peace cannot be imposed on someone, it has to come within.

I may have been influenced by the song Let Peace Begin with Me; when I was growing up Coca-Cola used this song for their ads. If you have been reading my posts, you already know that soft drinks had a strong influence on my early years.  Here are a few lines from the song:

Let there be peace on Earth,
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on Earth,
The peace that was meant to be.

Combining this thought with the fact that the only person we can change is ourselves makes sense to me.  Seeking inner peace is a simple solution, but I believe it to be the only true path to peace.  If we all seek the peace within ourselves and find it, then we will be at peace with not only ourselves, but with every one we meet.

We are influenced by those around us.  If we can find inner peace we can spread peace to our neighbors, co-workers, friends and family; they in turn can spread it.  So on and so on.

Life is good!  God is great! All is right in my world!

Blessings,

Genie

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Creating Peace

  1. I love that song, too. We sing it occasionally in church! I am more and more aware of the truth in what you’re saying. It is a grand experiment to be in the middle of chaos and watch how your own inner peace can indeed calm others…most often without a word shared! Lovely post, Genie. Debra

    • Debra,
      I like a “grand experiment” – I have noticed when I am calm and at peace others gravitate to me. For example at our local hospital there are huge waiting rooms. When I go into an empty waiting room that has plenty of sitting for 50+ people – folks tend to sit within a chair or two of where I am.

  2. One person at a time. Starting with you, then me and lets see how far it goes. 🙂

  3. I really believe that as part of the great web of one the greatest choice we each make is whether to contribute peace to the web or to be part of the anger. The more people there are who hold the space of peace the more the web can “be peace”.

  4. Good post Genie!

    Eckhart Tolle in his book, “A New Earth” reminds us of how difficult at times choosing peace over drama/conflict is. He writes: “do you want peace or drama? You want peace. There is no one who doesn’t want peace. Yet there is something else in you that wants the drama, wants the conflict. [Your ego!] You may not be able to feel it at this moment. You may have to wait for a situation or even just a thought that triggers a reaction in you … Can you awaken at that moment of unconsciousness?”

    If we can all remember to choose the peace within in as you write, we’ll help to create the peace around us.

    Blessings!

    • Thank you Valerie! I have chosen to not have drama in my life. It’s just a big waste of energy and as Tolle has said it does not bring you peace.

  5. Love this line: Seeking inner peace is a simple solution, but I believe it to be the only true path to peace. If we all seek the peace within ourselves and find it, then we will be at peace with not only ourselves, but with ever one we meet.

I love comments!

