Genie Speaks

There is hope

Perspectives – what’s really going on?

Awhile ago I played with a photo of one my day lilies; each time I used a different filter on Photoshop I thought of how reality is really the beholder’s perception that is filtered through emotions, experiences, and degree of self awareness. I have had various experiences in my life where I have let my situation dedicate my perception of reality.

For instance I would be looking too close so that I could not see the whole picture or be so far away I could not see clearly enough.

Both perspectives may be good in the short run, but a lifetime of not being able to see all the facts or seeing too many facts can have me feeling overwhelmed.  All because I didn’t allow myself see a perceptive where I could see the situation close enough to enjoy it without it being the only thing I could see.  Or I would look so far into the future I could not see what was going on here and now.

Or my thoughts would be so tangled up that everything is all jumbled up.

I could see all the pieces, but I just could not put them together in the right order. This is a truly frustrating place to be.

Or my perception of reality would be so twisted up that nothing was recognizable and it seemed that nothing will be right again.  How depressing.

But then it could get so bad that my perception is so distorted that nothing was what is truly was it was just a mess that led to feeling hopeless.

Sometimes, I felt separated from everyone as though there is was piece of frosted glass between me and the world.

I was feeling as though everyone knew the rules of life, but they wouldn’t share with me.  A lonely place to be.

There have been times when I hurt so bad that I felt outside my own body; not able to feel as though my spirit and body were not truly intertwined.

When I let myself do this, I am disconnecting from God.  Not a fun place to be.

Then there were the times my perception distorted reality just enough that I tricked myself into believe this is the real world.

Life was just mean enough to bend me out of shape a bit, but not enough to let me forget my basic essence.  Of course I know life isn’t mean, it just seemed that way for awhile.

I like my perception I have today.

I see clearly enough to know who I am and why I’m on this earth.  I see clearly enough to see my next step on my path, but not enough to see what all is coming next. I would be tempted to jump too far ahead if I truly knew what was coming next.

Life is good!  God is great!  All is right in my world!

Blessings,

Genie

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Perspectives – what’s really going on?

  1. That is just lovely. I agree with all of it. I’ve always said that reality is only the combination of infinite perspectives, like lots of little separate bubbles floating around and intersecting at the edges. We can peek into others’ perspectives, but only from our own, so the view will always be distorted. But once we realize this, it’s easier to be more tolerant, isn’t it?

    Beautiful words and beautiful images. 🙂

  2. Hi,
    Great photos, I would love to have photoshop, it seems you can do so much with it, and I love the different images you have came up with, and a great message to go with it all. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Niltsi's Spirit and commented:
    A great post about perception and also about Photoshop.

  4. A great post about perception and also about Photoshop. And I love what you wrote in your last lines about knowing who you are. Some never know who they are really.

  5. Beautiful post – thanks for sharing – love how you messed around with the photo! Being true to yourself is the greatest gift we can give ourselves:) Have a Great Day!

  6. Really cool how you tied your gorgeous photos into a profound message. Thanks for this!

    Lisa

    • Thank you Lisa. I had to think on it a month or so, but I finally got the words and photos to go together in a way that made sense to me.

  7. Another great post, Genie! I really like the second to last picture…looks like a Monet painting. 🙂 You have some pretty cool options on your camera.

    • Thank you! As far as I know my camera doesn’t have those options. I just took the same photo and used different filters on Photoshop to make the new image. It’s a lot of fun.

I love comments!

