Genie Speaks

There is hope

I Choose

Each day we make choices about our thoughts, which affect our feelings, attitudes and behavior.   Consciously or subconsciously we are constantly making choices about our actions or reactions to our world. I believe we need to stop and think about what we are choosing and why.  If you are not aware of how your thoughts that are affecting your choices; a good place to start is with your actions and reactions.

What is your automatic reaction to adverse conditions?  Do you react in a positive or negative manner; or are you neutral?   If you don’t know, I have a few questions for you:  How would you react if you dropped a full egg carton in your freshly cleaned kitchen and all 12 of the eggs splattered everywhere (on the floor, cabinets, stove, chairs, table, etc.)?    Would you calmly clean up the mess and go on with your day?  Would you rant and rave until you got it out of your system?  Then would you clean up the mess and tell everyone you meet what a rotten day you are having or would you let it go?  Or is your reaction something else?

I picked this example, because it happened to me about thirty years ago and I just looked at the mess a bit stunned, sighed, then cleaned it up and went on being happy.  I haven’t managed to drop a full dozen since then, but I have dropped an egg or two since.  My reaction changed as I changed.  There was a time or two (that’s all I feel like admitting to at this point) when I was so angry about other things in my life that I let myself become frustrated about dropping the eggs and I let it set the tone for the day.  It was further proof that the world didn’t like me much.  Crazy thinking, but that was where I was then. Looking back I prefer my original reaction.  My day was peaceful; because I didn’t take one small incident and exaggerate it to the point that I let it ruined my whole day.

“I let” is the answer to choosing how I react.  I let myself choose to remain happy, no matter what happens.  I’m admit at times I still let myself pout a bit, until I realize what I’m doing then I consciously choose to be happy and have a peaceful day.

Life is good! God is great!  All is right in my world!

Blessings,

Genie

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “I Choose

  1. Love this – Be Yourself – Oh So True!!!

  2. You’re so right about thoughts affecting our attitudes, actions, and even our bodies–and relationships, I would add.
    About those eggs… :- 0 My “eggs” lately have been constant interruptions in my internet service (usually when I’m trying to create a new post or respond to a post like yours!) and my hours on hold with the unresponsive provider company. I fully admit: I’m a ranter in situations like that! I try not to let it affect my entire day and everyone I meet, but I do focus on the problem until I can come up with a solution, and I work with it until it’s resolved.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You have a lovely site here and I will visit often. 🙂

  3. Thank you for the food for thought!

  4. I understand this and I try. Some days it’s ger easy other days I just don’t know what happens. 🙂

  5. Very nice post! Thanks for that 🙂

  6. WOnderful post Genie…I also ask myself “will I care about this in five years?” If my answer is ‘no’, then I invest very little energy in the event (using your dropped egg as an example)…

  7. I find that when I am emotional, I always make the wrong choices…the time to make the choices is when you wait and look at the possible ups and down..Great post!

    • It is true that when we are emotional we tend to jump in without thinking and there is where the unconscious kicks in. Thank you for comment.

I love comments!

