Genie Speaks

There is hope

Creative Chaos Award

First, I need to thank the person who granted me the Creative Chaos Award and that would be Cee Neuner, whose blog is called Cee’s Life Photography.     I do thank Cee for this honor; I am tickled pink.

I’m supposed to take my best shot at the 3 tasks listed below.

First Task: Three weird things I do: 

Wow, I’m going to have to ask the people around me about this, because I know I’m not the weird one.  I’m normal and it is everyone else who does the weird stuff.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

After some thought, I realized that I probably could start a blog called Genie’s Weirdness and post a weird thing I do each and each day until the day I die and still have material left over.  So I’m changing this task to three weird things I will admit to doing:

1.   I decided to lead a debt free life years ago.  The only debt I have is my mortgage and I’m proud to say I own more of my house than the bank does.  That debt free day is coming.

2.  I love to keep busy and I look for things to do.  I think my mother’s motto “I can’t abide by lazy people” has sunk deep into my psyche.  Even when I am sitting at home resting, I’m either doing genealogy research, writing, crocheting or making lists of what I’m going to do next.

3.  I not only believe in my dreams, I take action to make them happen.

Second Task: You must tell why you look at the “glass half full” scenario and ask “what? No coffee?”

Actually, I look at a glass half full and think “Wonderful, there’s room for more.” I think this is a side effect of choosing to be happy.  I have to find the good in every situation, because I’m happier that way.

Third Task: You find yourself in a desolate place when your car breaks down. You have no cell phone service, no Wal-Mart, and only a candy bar for food. It is 150 miles to the closest town. What color are your under pants and why?

I thought this was supposed to be a challenge.  My first car was a lemon from day one.  It was only five years old when I bought it in 1982; way before cell phones and Wal-Mart’s was not just a few minutes away.   I think the first week I had it, I had to return the car for repairs and I didn’t get it back for four months.  I didn’t have water or food in the car, not even a candy bar.  What I did have in the trunk was a case of oil cans, because every 30 miles I had to stop to add another can of oil.   Does that give you an idea of what a mess it was?  I was young and healthy (I’m not admitting to dumb) so I often took road trips for the heck of it.

Thanks to that the first car, I have been stranded in many, many places; all in the middle of nowhere.   I was raised the country and that is where my heart still lives.  So when I go on a road trip it is to the middle of nowhere, because that is the place that is calming to me.  Anyway, I was stranded so many times that the tow truck driver would pull up and say “Hi Genie” and got busy without saying another word.  Didn’t have to ask who I was, how I was going to pay for it or where the car needed to be towed.  *sigh*

Oh, I forgot to tell you the color of my underpants: rainbows, because I look for the bright side of life.  Anybody, who would take that lemon of a car on more than one road trip, has to be wearing rainbows.  I never worried about being stranded, because somebody sooner or later was going to travel down that road.   My logic:  that road wasn’t built just for me to travel on – so somebody else will be using it sooner or later.  Of course, I leaned toward sooner.

Fourth Task: Nominate 5 people who recently followed your blog.

Positive Boomer

Silly Frog Susan

Preblogger

Denobears

Truthlets and Thought Bits

I checked their blogs and each one of them has a wonderful blog and deserves the Create Chaos Award.  Please check them out.

Life is good!  God is great!  All is right in my world!

Blessings,

Genie

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Creative Chaos Award

  1. What fun answers. I love your rainbow underpants too!!!!

  2. This sounds like a fun one… Thanks for nominating me! I’ll start working on the challenges. Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. reneeboomer on said:

    WOW!! First, congrats to you! I enjoy your blog very much. Thank you so much for nominating my blog, what a wonderful surprise. I appreciate your kindness. Have a wonderful. Renee 🙂

  4. Congratulations!! What a wonderful way to start my day – reading your blog and learning a little more about you..:-)

  5. Genie, thank you so much for nominating my blog. I’m so happy.
    Love,

  6. Eleenie on said:

    Debt free is good, we reached that goal 6 years ago, it’s an amazing feeling and a huge weight off your shoulders, great to hear that you are almost there! Thank you so for much for the nomination! 🙂

I love comments!

