Genie Speaks

There is hope

I am Grateful

As I sit here writing this post my feet are in a bucket of ice water, because they are so swollen from walking – I am grateful.  I am so grateful I can walk.  I am grateful that I am finished with using a wheelchair.  I am grateful that I had a wheelchair when I needed it.  It was such a blessing; recently, I passed that blessing on to someone else.  I am grateful for being in the position to bless another.

No matter the situation I find myself in, I look for the blessing in it. Sometimes I do not understand why something has happened, but I do know there is a reason and that reason is a blessing.   I am grateful for the ability to find the blessings and/or have the knowledge that there is a blessing in this even when I cannot see it.

When I’m having a hard day, I stop and quickly write down what I’m grateful for that day.  I always number the list, because it makes me happy to have a count of my blessings. I usually use a small piece of scratch paper, then fold it up and place it in my pocket.   Throughout the day, I pull out my gratitude list and read it.  It always makes me feel better.

Have you counted your blessings lately?  What are you grateful for this day?

Life is good! God is great! All is well in my world.

Blessing,

Genie

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am grateful for the birds in my yard; they are beautiful to look at and wonderful singers.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

29 thoughts on “I am Grateful

  1. Hi Genie:

    Genie, thanks for stopping by my blog and liking some posts. I read a few posts on your blog and love your attitude towards life and all its ups and downs.

    I am grateful to be alive and be surrounded by love.

    Blessings for an abundant life!

    • I thank you! For both the blessing and reminder “I am grateful to be alive and surrounded by love.” I need to add that to my list.

  2. You Were Born To Succeed on said:

    Thank you, Genie!

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. I am grateful for your visit, Genie. Grateful for your positive and inspiring thoughts. Grateful for those connections across the world that in small of bigger ways will make it better. Thanks and wishing you a pleasant weekend.

  5. There are a lot of wonderful blogs out there…seriously…I think yours is my favorite.

  6. I am so grateful you came to visit me so I could find you and read this beautiful post on gratitude with beautiful photos 🙂 Thank you Genie!

  7. I am grateful to have found your blog post on gratitude. The more we say thanks and praise, the more we are blessed. TY for visiting my blog. 🙂

  8. Count your many blessings, name them one by one. What joy gratitude brings to the heart, yours and mine. Reading your words reminds that we have a choice in what we see. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Ox75f3HWBA

  9. These were very uplifting and words of strength. You have
    a very positive message in this one that everyone should follow.
    Well done ..
    Blessings,
    Isadora

  10. Genie, it’s a match made in heaven – I’m so glad you found napkinwriter; how did you do that? I want to keep attuned to you and your words and photos — your blog is beautiful. I Am every moment grateful — for it all — I also am a Reiki Master and I feel a deep need to communicate with another Reiki practicioner and it could be you!

    • I saw a comment you made on someone else’s page and I followed you home. 🙂
      I’m grateful that you followed me home and that you want to communicate. I love to share thoughts and words with you.

  11. Thanks for being such a positive voice!!!! Because you are so fabulous, I am sending the Beautiful Blogger award your way. If you care to accept this award, please visit the following site for instructions: http://momentumofjoy.com/2012/03/28/beautiful-blogger-award-thank-you-so-very-much/

  12. I’m grateful that you wrote this to remind me that I need to look at the glass as half full. Instead of thinking about everything that is wrong. 🙂

  13. One thing I’m grateful for is the peaceful feeling that came from reading your post this morning. Thanks, Genie!

  14. I’m grateful for your post this morning. No wonder that lovely Robin (?) sits so comfortably on her nest in your garden. Your gratefulness and peace of mind must create a lovely atmosphere in your garden.

    • I believe it i a robin, but I’m a little clueless when it comes to naming the different types of birds.
      I am so grateful this morning also, it’s a beautiful day. Most of all I’m grateful for you stopping by and leaving a comment. 🙂

I love comments!

