Genie Speaks

There is hope

The Blame Game

Have you ever notice that some people are so busy playing the blame game, so they are the victim/martyr in the situation instead of looking around to see what they can do to fix the situation?   A prime example of this was the guy who was waiting for me as I came out the bank so he could yell at me for parking so close to him that he couldn’t get into his vehicle.

I took one look at our vehicles and noticed three things:  the parking spot on the other side of him was empty; I parked exactly in the center of my parking space; and that he parked on the edge of his spot on my side.  I quickly realized that he could have opened the passenger door and scooted across the bench seat to the driver’s side very easily and been on his way.  What he choose to do was get ticked off, because he was in a hurry and someone was blocking his way.

Since, I was in no hurry to conduct my business and talked with my banker about this, that and the other thing before I left the building, he had a long wait for my return.  Mr. Victim was so busy pacing back and forth, muttering to himself, getting himself so worked up that he couldn’t see that not only was there not a vehicle on the other side of him, there were no other cars in the parking lot.  He could have come inside and asked me to move so he could get in his pickup.

By the time I approached my car, he was a raving lunatic.   Mr. Victim started huffing, puffing and yelling.  Behavior I’m not used to at all.  I live in a small Southern town where folks are basically kind and polite; this guy was not from around here at all.  He could have let me get in my car and leave; then gone on his way, but no he stopped me so he could rant and rave for several minutes.  It was entirely my fault for parking too close to him and I should have parked somewhere else, because the whole parking lot was empty.  I was keeping him from important business and on and on it went.

When he paused for air, with a polite smile I gently pointed out that if he had parked as he should have he wouldn’t have been trapped.  He looked at his space and did some more huffing and puffing, then he moved away muttering to himself.  While the crazy man was out of my way, I got in my car and left.

All that drama for nothing, he was so over-the-top that was hysterically funny and I had trouble keeping myself from laughing at him.  Is that how I appear to others when I get bent out of shape?  I pray it isn’t so.  Note to self:  I’m in charge of my reactions and my life; no stranger can make or break my day.

How about you, are you letting the world control your emotions?  Can your day be made or broken by a stranger?

Life is good!  God is great! All is right in my world.

Many Blessings,

Genie

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Blame Game

  1. I think some people are not happy unless they are angry. What a waste of time. Good post, Genie. 🙂

  2. Marie Overfors on said:

    We all have lessons to learn, opportunities for growth. Hopefully, we will learn and grow.

I love comments!

